Patron Saint Of Quotes and Trivia

A response to The Daily Post:

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/leaving-legacy/

|A True Saint| In 300 years, if you were to be named the patron saint of X, what would you like X to be? Places, activities, objects — all are fair game.

 

…not that I have a profound collection of witty quotes or meaningless trivia in my brain to produce for all of you.

Well, I admit it wasn’t the first thing on my mind. I was thinking more like Patron Saint of Music since music is my ultimate passion. It’s my way to express myself freely and to relax. But I have thought of the part of me which have been awakened since I transformed into a bookworm — the obsessive reader of quotes and trivia.

I don’t exactly know why, but there’s something magical I find about quotes and trivia.

Whenever another issue of Reader’s Digest lands on the work desk of my grandfather, like what a burglar does, I snatch if off and smuggle it into my bedroom. Then I would open the pages so rapidly like a lunatic until I find the Quotes Section. I even remember having read a bulky book overflowing with quotes from different historical figures and modern personalities.

I honestly do not memorize quotes, let alone the person who quoted them. I enjoy reading quotes because it brings me to see things in a different perspective. Also, some of them are so stupid and ingenious, both at once, that it ridiculously gives me light in understanding the world. Perhaps, this is the magic I was talking about.

And as for reading trivia, I do it almost everyday of my boring life. I couldn’t let a day pass without visiting oddee.com or listverse.com. These sites boast several lists of fascinating and bizarre stuff that I somehow thought never existed in this world.

I even read more trivia than current events. I don’t know but I kind of like noticing the little things which we usually regard as useless. Or maybe I am just a curious human being trying to satisfy my lust for knowledge.

Actually, one of the reasons why I love reading trivia is because it provides me with a lot of information to the point that it makes me feel like I have an edge over everyone LOL…

Your Patron Saint Of Quotes and Trivia has spoken his words of wisdom…be enlightened!

 

3 thoughts on “Patron Saint Of Quotes and Trivia

Leave a comment